Commercial Property Classes | Permits

Commercial property forms a very distinctive part of the real estate business. If you are looking to rent or invest in a commercial premises, you should be fully aware of the very diverse classes under which specific types of such premises fall. There are 20 commercial classes in all and each class is dictated by a distinct permit with which parameters the proprietor must adhere, in order to be able to operate according to law and in order to maintain a business license. Here in a nutshell, is a breakdown of what each Class of Commercial is all about.

  • Class 1 - Dwelling for residential accomodation, lodging or personal residence, part of which is also used for a commercial occupation or to render a service.
  • Class 2 - Residential Institution - Residence for people in need of care on a temporary or permanent basis, such as a hospital or nursing home.
  • Class 3 -Hostel, boarding house, guesthouse - a residence for multiple people requiring generally temporary lodging.
  • Class 4 - Commercial shop, retail outlet, ranging from showroom to travel agency to sales booth to post office, etc.
  • Class 5 - Offices used for professional services - medical or dental clinics, legal offices, financial service providers, etc.
  • Class 6 - Premises used for the making, selling and partaking of food and beverages, such as a coffee shop, restaurant, ice-cream shop, etc.
  • Class 7 - Specified as a non-residential institution, a Class 7 includes an art space, a museum, an exhibition hall, places of worship or social and recreational activities.
  • Class 8 - Premises used for educational and training purposes - nurseries, day centres, schools, colleges, teaching institutions.
  • Class 9 - Public spaces such as cinemas, concert halls, theatres, casinos, health clubs, sports halls, recreational spaces, swimming pools, etc.
  • Class 10 - This Class is linked to marine activities - storing of motor boats, yacht marinas and water related sports such as diving, sailing, surfing, etc.
  • Class 11- Industrial premises involving light industry, research, testing and development of products, crafts, etc.
  • Class 12 - Other Industrial use.
  • Class 13,14,15,16 - Special Industrial use.
  • Class 17 - Storage & distribution.
  • Class 18 - Agriculture.
  • Class 19 - Boatyards.
  • Class 20 - Aquaculture.

MEPA, the Malta Environment & Planning Authority has issued specific categories under which these Classes fall, with categories delineating residential use, social use, tourism and leisure use, commercial use, industrial use, storage, etc. Each category subdivides the above classes in very specific purposes and goes into much detail as to the character of individual permits and planning restraints in order to ensure conformity with regards to various aspects such as health & safety, traffic congestion, noise pollution, air pollution, etc.

It is advisable to consult a professional architect in order to ensure the remits within which the specific commercial property you would like to invest in or rent falls and to obtain related information from the pertinent authorities.

RE/MAX Malta may provide you with the necessary guidance and advice to ensure that you are placing your money in the right direction. Our service do not end there in that we are offer a comprehensive and will ensure that all paper work, permits and follow are professionally correct and proper through the RE/MAX Commercial and Legal department.

Having the largest database of commercial real estate for sale and to let in Malta & Gozo, we are sure that you will find the unique commercial premises you deserve for your business.

Contact one of our offices for more information about renting or buying a commercial premises or send us a request through the form on this page for immediate attention.

You may also want to look at our Commercial Real Estate page